Rat Show

December 9, 2008

I went to a rat show yesterday. And took rats with me. It’s the first time i’ve taken rats and only the second show i’ve ever been to. The first was over a year ago and i’ve not been able to get to any since because of the car. So now I have a more reliable car I managed to make the trip to Glasgow with no hiccups.

I had a lovely day, which was both good fun and really interesting. I took Rupert & Jools with me and entered them both in the pet class. Rupert came 4th (out of 6), so not bad, and we still got a prize card and Jools got a special ‘cheekiest rat’ award, which i’m really chuffed about. I also ended up scribing for the varieties judge, which is writing down the comments for the critiques of each rat. This was because she ended up doing open judging, which meant she explained her critique of each rat, pointing out the faults and good points compared to the standards, and when she announced this I rushed over that fast I ended up sitting next to her, so ended up writing.

It was a really good day, everyone was really friendly and made me feel really welcome, the boys took it all in their strides and I found the judging so interesting, confirming once & for all that I really want to get involved with breeding and exhibiting.

I also won a raffle prize and bought the girlies an early christmas present in the form of a fabric hanging house thing. I have written a little article / story about my day, that i’m going to send to the SRC along with some photos, so if they decide they want to put it in the magazine, I won’t put it on the website ’till it’s gone in there.

The next show is the first Sunday in February. I would love to go, but Steve’s parents will still be here and it’ll only be about a fortnight after we move house, so i’m not sure. But if I don’t make that one, I will definitely be at the April one 🙂 .

Here are a few photos, they’re not great beacuse I had to use the flash on the camera.

The rats in their show tanks:

Src Fancy rat show

A Chinchilla rat. I love this variety.

Src Fancy rat show

A roan / husky kitten. (i’m not sure what the other one is, agouti, I think)

Src Fancy rat show

A lovely black hooded:

Src Fancy rat show

One Response to “Rat Show”

  1. Kate Says:

    I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Kate


Leave a Reply

