Looking forward to 2009

January 6, 2009

In my message at the end of 2007 I hoped that all of my rats would still be here now, which of course they aren’t. It wasn’t the ones I was expecting that I lost though. This year we have said goodbye to Burmickity, Mustard, Fudge & Beau and we are heading into 2009 with Treacle going downhill, and both Charlotte & Doughnut with lumps that will only get bigger.

We said ‘hello’, to Bob, Monty & Marlon though but it’s been over a year since we had babies and I am really starting to yearn for some. I must be strong and wait though.

In 2008 I made the decision that I definitely want to begin breeding and made the first steps towards aquiring some suitable rats. These will be arriving at towards the end of the year which will give me loads of time to get organised. So this year is going to be a quiet ratty year, just going to some more shows and hopefully learning a bit more about type & whatnot. It’s going to be a sad year too, as it is highly unlikely most of my ratties will be with me at the end of it. Even Sugar’s ‘babies’ will be 27 months by then.

So, i’m not looking forward to the natural decline in my ratty numbers, but I will look forward to the arrival of my babies to begin my breeding endeavours and a new chapter in my rat owning.

Bring on 2009!!

One Response to “Looking forward to 2009”

  1. Janet Says:

    Hello Laura,
    I came across your blog a few weeks ago and I’ve been hooked by your posts 😀 I check back every few days and I’m eager to hear more about your breeding plans. I too would like to breed my own healthy rats to improve the species and work on patterns, but can’t begin till end of 2010 at least. I can’t wait to read about your experiences. Please do blog more 😀
    Cheers
    Janet


Leave a Reply

